The Man, the Myth: Dave Mathews (and Tim Reyholds) made it HAPPEN

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from yogafriend. Show yogafriend's posts

The Man, the Myth: Dave Mathews (and Tim Reyholds) made it HAPPEN

I'm not qualified to benchmark a Dave Mathews / DMB live concert because I haven't seen enough of them; to put it right on the line, I saw Dave live for the first time last night.  

The myth weighing heavily on my mind: can DM live up to "all that" -- especially in a rare concert paired with his musical friend Tim Reynolds, and not with the DMB?

The concert not only did not disappoint, it EXCEEDED my expectations so far and away, I can't even describe how simply *happy* that concert made me feel, and how excellent,  truly excellent, it was.   We got a concert of over 2 FULL HOURS.   

I'm no expert, by any measure, but the guitar expertise of Tim Reynolds was mind blowing, it was so beautiful, including the way was able to ape his guitar into sounding like a violin.    Just had to laugh.    Amazing. 

I wasn't the least put off by the more quiet numbers, and one of the break out songs that I believe Dave said was sung in concert for the first time, was a John Denver song, "Take Me to Tomorrow".   Brilliant.  

I knew more songs that I thought I would, but there were many that I was not at all familiar with, but not even ONE that I didn't like, or would want to hear again.    Additionally, the songs were re-engineered / arranged to be played by just the two of them, Dave and Tim, so of the unfamiliar songs, I know what I heard would only be heard / sung / performed by just this formidable pair in concert, which made it even more special.  

It was magic, everybody.   It really was.   My friend just got an iPhone (I am so jealous) and she took a pic and posted it on FB during the concert (very bratty of her ... hahah), but I can also claim it for my own.