Weight lifting question

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from BadHabitude. Show BadHabitude's posts

Weight lifting question

Very new to weight lifting.  I've just worked out how many reps and sets I should do.   Let's say your routine is simply bench press curls and sit ups just to simplify things.  And let's say we do 5 sets of each.  Do you do; a set of bench press, then a set of curls, then do sit ups, and then bench press again?  Or do you stay at the bench press and do a set, rest, do another set and repeat until all 5 sets are done? I've been going in the 'round robin' method and I'm wondering if that's wrong. Thanks

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from kargiver. Show kargiver's posts

Re: Weight lifting question

I'm not an expert or trainer, but I do have some experience weight lifting.  Lifted for 2 years at my gym at work and got excellent (if I do say so!) results.

There are a lot of theories about what is best.  However, "wrong" really boils down to setting yourself up for injury imo so I think you're OK there with what you are doing.

On the other hand, there are more efficient ways to get great results.  Some pro football teams are doing one set of very high weight to fatigue in 10 - 12 reps and that's it.  3 sets is "standard," though.  If you are doing 5 sets of each, you are probably not lifting enough weight.  Your third set should really push you to fatigue and be the last set.

As for refractory time, I know not having enough is potentially dangerous and too much you don't get as much benefit.  When I lifted, I rested between sets without doing anything else in between because that's how the gym coach instructed me, but like I said, I'm no expert.

Maybe someone else can be more helpful, but that's what I've got...that and congrats on getting started!  It can be intimidating and scary to start weight training, at least it was for me.  
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Discretion is the better part of valor.