Could London style riots happen here if we cut too much spending?

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from UserName99. Show UserName99's posts

Could London style riots happen here if we cut too much spending?

www.nypost.com/p/news/opinion/opedcolumnists/barbarians_within_Hgv74LXgQnxXQ3MEkJXMIO">Barbarians within

www.nypost.com/p/news/opinion/opedcolumnists/barbarians_within_Hgv74LXgQnxXQ3MEkJXMIO">Why Brit-style riots could spread to US

They were cleaning up the mess in London yesterday -- replacing the windows at the Ritz, fixing the wooden façade at Fortnum & Mason and attending to a vandalized Trafalgar Square in the wake of Saturday's protests -- and riots -- by trade unionists and anarchists.

Think it can't happen here? Think again.

The British press reports that up to half a million people took part in the demonstrations, 200 were arrested and more than 160 injured -- including 84 police officers, 11 of whom had to be hospitalized.

Why? Because Prime Minister David Cameron announced a $130 billion cut in public spending and this is how the infantile left reacts when its I've-got-mine-Jack gravy train is threatened.

Expect more of this in the coming months and years, as countries finally face up to the fact that the money has run out and that tough choices must be made -- not just nickel-and-dime decisions about which programs to cut but the harder issues of whether certain programs should even exist.

We've already seen it, on a smaller scale, in Wisconsin, during the recent battle over Gov. Scott Walker's plan to rein in the public-employee unions. In Madison, the capitol was occupied by hordes of protesters and the lives of some Republican state legislators were threatened.

http://www.nypost.com/p/news/opinion/opedcolumnists/barbarians_within_Hgv74LXgQnxXQ3MEkJXMIO

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from massmoderateJoe. Show massmoderateJoe's posts

Re: Could London style riots happen here if we cut too much spending?

Yes