What to ask when looking at Preschool

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from Trouble30. Show Trouble30's posts

What to ask when looking at Preschool

I'm just beginning to look into preschools for my almost 3 year old to start in September.  What questions do you suggest I ask and what should I be aware of when touring the potential schools?  Thanks for any advice!!!  

2. This post has been removed.

3. You have chosen to ignore posts from Trouble30. Show Trouble30's posts

Re: What to ask when looking at Preschool

Grrr... bumping my post because of annoying spammer!

4. You have chosen to ignore posts from purplecow89. Show purplecow89's posts

Do the kids look like they're having a good time?  Are they engaged, is the activity pitched to their level so they can do whatever it is?  Do the kids seem to be getting along reasonably well?  Is there a good mix of organized and free activity, of intellectual activity (letters, numbers, shapes, colors) and play? Do they have a reasonable time/length of nap if it's all day?  Do the kids spend at least part of the day grouped with their own age group and some of the time mixed ages?

Other than that, figure out what is important to YOU and ask about that.  Don't go looking for a big list of Questions Good Mommies Ask Just Because.

One biggie for me--at lunch time do they have the kids all sit and eat their food in a reasonably civilized manner, and sit there until everyone is done or nearly done during a specified time?  Not that every kid is going to eat every bite or have perfect manners at three, but if they're eating like savages and don't know how to sit in a chair or can't sit there quietly for five minutes...no good.  You would be surprised by how many kids show up in kindergarten (who have been to preschool) who kneel on the chair with their elbows on the table and eat utensil-type food with their hands.