OB vs. Midwife?

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from Sally2340. Show Sally2340's posts

OB vs. Midwife?

Hi Everyone,

Ok, so I am a little past 7 weeks and realize I need to choose a doctor!
    I was working with a gyn before but he doesn't do OB anymore so he recommended a hospital midwifery. I guess this is instead of an OB?

What are the differences? Is everyone else going with an OB instead of a midwife? What are the pros and cons?

Thanks for your help. I'm new at this and we haven't told anyone we're pregnant yet so I can't start asking people I know... :)

S

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from sunshinemrs. Show sunshinemrs's posts

Re: OB vs. Midwife?

This is a very personal decision.  The basic differences are:

OBs can perform C-sections should it be necessary.  They tend to be quicker to call for "medical interventions" with birth.

Midwives can spend more time during each visit with you and tend to have a more holistic approach to birth.

Neither is good or bad, just generally different in their approach.

3. You have chosen to ignore posts from kargiver. Show kargiver's posts

I suppose if you're here you can do your own web search, but fwiw, I thought this article was very informative:

Pregnancy Info Net Article

4. You have chosen to ignore posts from lemonmelon. Show lemonmelon's posts