How accurate is the Zillow 'Zestimate'?

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from Alfred-D. Show Alfred-D's posts

How accurate is the Zillow 'Zestimate'?

Hello to all-

Based on your experience, how accurate would you say the zillow zestimate calculator is?

This tool has proven to be confusing at best. I would love to hear your opinion based on experiences.

Tks.

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from wsmboston. Show wsmboston's posts

Re: How accurate is the Zillow 'Zestimate'?

Zillow Zestimate can be hit or miss since it uses statistics to calculate the price. Many factors contribute to when and for how much a home sells. Foreclosures, short-sales, seller motivation, buyer financing, quickness of closing and interior condition are a few things that play a huge part in the sale price of a home. I am a real estate agent and I actually found that Zillow often over estimated the value of my listings. I think that this points out why it is good to talk with a real estate professional, even Zillow recommends this, when thinking about buying a place.

3. You have chosen to ignore posts from JJLen. Show JJLen's posts

It's good if you want a general ballpark -- but you shouldn't use it for figuring out what to offer (or what to price for sale). It isn't that close an estimate. If you want to know generally "is this house in the 300s or is it in the 400s" then it's a fine tool. I like it better, when thinking about prices, to sort by recently sold -- I can see what prices are really doing in a given neighborhood.

4. You have chosen to ignore posts from ronrsr14. Show ronrsr14's posts

The zestimates not that bad, but it is way off on multifamily homes, and homes that are in particularly good or bad condition.

5. This post has been removed.

6. You have chosen to ignore posts from hazel1222. Show hazel1222's posts