Calling the Bluff: Savard Post Concussion Syndrome

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from xenimus. Show xenimus's posts

Calling the Bluff: Savard Post Concussion Syndrome

As a prospective Med School Student i would like to offer my insight and opinion on Savard's current condition. Although i'm in school to become a surgeon i am not a doctor nor pretend to be one, at this time. That being said, i have done my fair share of neurological case studies that include patients with brain trauma or chronic metabolic cellular condition. 

At least 40% of my studies dealt with patients that had suffered some level form of a concussion. I can also relate to this because i suffer from post-concussion symptoms (3rd-degree) as well, similar to that of what Patrice Bergeron suffered.

The symptoms are pretty much standard and in most cases easy to detect and physically visible. The common symptoms are as followed:

Dizziness
    Nausea 
    Sensitivity to Light
    Headache (Usually in form of a Migraine)
    Lost of equilibrium 

Obviously, each patient is different and may respond to such trauma differently. While recovering from a concussion doctors recommend no physical activities because it can trigger the symptoms mentioned above. Usually, rest with light walking (10-15min) is the primary form to deal with this condition early on. Physical activity would then increase in terms of your heart-rate. For example:

Wks
    1-3   Rest
    4-6    walk (10-15min)
    7-9    treadmill (HR target of 120) (*if capable)
    10-11 treadmill (HR target of 135-140)
    12-14 treadmill (HR Target 150-160)
    *weeks 7-14 should be symptom free.