Need help with Chara's late empty net clear
posted at 1/8/2011 10:35 PM EST
Someone help me out here. I was under the impression that if the puck goes through the crease on a long clear, icing is waved off. Chara's clear to the empty net missed the right post by and inch and a half. It CLEARLY went through the blue paint of the goal crease. When did this rule change?? Face off goes down to the B's end. BOOM! Tie game! It was almost like watching a game from the haunted Montreal Forum.
Re: Need help with Chara's late empty net clear
posted at 1/8/2011 10:44 PM EST
I don't remember when the change was made, but the puck going through the crease no longer negates icing like it once did. http://www.nhl.com/ice/page.htm?id=26494