The "Toughness" thing

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from Fletcher1. Show Fletcher1's posts

The "Toughness" thing

After watching the Bruins get outplayed physically by the Habs last night, you have to wonder how a team built on size and toughness can’t seem to use it to their advantage against a physically soft team like the Habs.

It seems like right down the line from Claude Julien to Thornton, to Campbell, to Chara, there are too many gentlemen on this team.  I am not a proponent of tons of fighting, dirty play, or old-timey brawls.  But what I would like is for Bruins players to be meaner and more confrontational against teams like the Habs.

Subban’s hit was perfectly clean, but instead of politely trying to square off and inviting him to drop the gloves, either go after him or do nothing!  The Bruins took a penalty asking for a fight while Subban ran away.  Same with Lapierre – we know this guy will back down from any challenge, so don’t stand five feet away asking for a duel.  Put a glove in his face, and another one to anyone who jumps in.  I’m not endorsing jumping Subban for a clean hit, but if you’re going to retaliate than do it in a way that makes an impact.

Even better than retaliating, is initiating.  Thornton et al are great at responding to things.  How about somebody on this team who truly starts some confrontations??  You see all these little elbows and chirping from Lapierre and Cammy and Kostitsyn and you realize that the Bruins aren’t doing enough initiating from their side.  Recchi and Krejci seemed to be the only guys on board for this last night.  Snow the goalie, come in hard on Price, start the scrums after the whistles, hit guys at every chance, be a freakin’ bully for once!

Remember how the Habs crumble when they are confronted physically?  Remember how Lucic used to own Komi, and it sucked the life out of that whole team?

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from TheShepherd. Show TheShepherd's posts

Re: The "Toughness" thing