Re: 4 team trade
posted at 8/12/2010 2:04 PM EDT
In Response to Re: 4 team trade
[QUOTE]The answer is that, even if you pay him nothing, the player's salary remains on your cap.
The only exception is for players who retire due to injury. See Coon's FAQ #55. If you are in luxury tax territory, a buyout at a reduced amount could actually save money, or at least break even. Plus, it does not annoy the player's agent who wants to be paid something too and who is someone you will have to deal with going forward.
Posted by jm02130[/QUOTE]
/>> Any money paid to a player is included in team salary
, even if the player is no longer playing or has retired. <<
Hence, he will not be paid his contract salary but just his buyout
. Only the buyout (or money paid to the player) will be allocated over the remaining years of the contract and charged to the team cap.
>> If no team claims a waived player, he is said to have "cleared waivers." The player may sign with a new team of his choice, and the player's prior team continues to pay the guaranteed portion of the terminated contract (see question number 94 for more information). The player's salary with his new team is a matter of negotiation. Few players are actually claimed while on waivers, since the team claiming a waived player inherits his entire contract. It is far more common for teams to wait for the player to clear waivers, and then sign him to a much smaller (even minimum salary) contract.<<
The guaranteed portion would be the agreed "buyout figure."
>> If a player is waived after March 1, he is ineligible to be included in the playoff roster of any team that signs him for the remainder of that season.<<
>> If a team trades a player and the player is waived by the receiving team, the player's original team cannot re-sign that player for 30 days (during the season) or 20 days (during the offseason) following the date of the trade.<<
>> Once a player has cleared waivers, his prior team cannot trade the player (including sign-and-trade).<<
If Sheed has not yet cleared waivers then I suppose technically the C's could pull him back and execute a trade for Posey though they'd have to wait for Posey to clear the trade restriction.