Re: Officials Get Fined
posted at 11/16/2009 8:43 PM EST
In Response to Re: Officials Get Fined
[QUOTE]In Response to Officials Get Fined : Welker called the timeout because the Pats weren't in the right formation. When asked about this play specifically Belicheck said it was a very heads up play by Welker and that he would have called the timeout himself had Welker not done so. This was discussed on WEEI today. Also, I believe the refs called it according to the rule. It's similar in nature to forward progress. With forward progress obviously the ball is spotted at the furthest spot of the player's forward progress before being tackled. The ball was spotted were Faulk maintained possession. He was falling backwards when he maintained possession so that is where the ball was spotted. Some one please chime in if this wrong, but I believe this is the rule.
Posted by kman2004[/QUOTE]
Forward progress can only be measured once it is a reception. At that point, he gets the furthest point of the ball once he is contacted and his forward momentum stops. (If he hits a guy at the thirty, bounces off him and then runs back to try and run around him but it tackled at the 28, his momentum is stopped the second time at the 28.)
He had the ball in possession with his foot down which makes it a reception.
His foot is on the 30, but his body is leaning across the 30 towards the 31.
He is contacted by the defender as he is gaining possession so that is where his forward progress should have been measured.
The line of gain is the 30. He is clearly on the line of gain with the ball across it.
I think what happened is the Line Judge making the call sees Faulk not get possession immediately and makes a guess that he doesn't gain possession until after he is going down. It is clear from the other angle that he has possession when his right foot hits the 30 though. The umpire though looks like he could have seen the possession and comes walking at the 30 but then he kind of flakes off.
I just realized something. The Line Judge should have been Ron Marinucci who wears #107. The Line Judge in the video is wearing #24. The ref crew last night was Scott Green. There is no #24 on Scott Green's crew unless my source is wrong. In fact, I can't find a ref with #24 in the lists. That is kind of odd.