Re: Proven!!! Colts cannot beat Pats legitimately...
posted at 11/16/2009 9:06 AM EST
In Response to Re: Proven!!! Colts cannot beat Pats legitimately...
[QUOTE]"I guess you still don't understand what PI is. It has been spelled out for you, but it appears you aren't bright enough to grasp it. Funny, experts say that sleep is supposed to help with the mental process, but yours is still flatlining." Just when I think I couldn't be more satisfied with a win, Enoch keeps making it more and more satisfying! Ad hominem attacks are always the work of people who have no legitimate argument. You are such a homer you'll never see that as the legitimate PI call, and it's not because you're an idiot (which may or may not be true - you're not rational at the moment because you're in mourning, which hopefully means you're moving along in the grieving process), but rather because you're a die-hard fan who's incapable of taking a loss to the Colts graciously! Just the sort of fan that makes this win so sweet for us Colt fans!!!
Posted by JulesWinfield[/QUOTE]
Jules, you clearly don't know the rule. It is obvious.
I've demonstrated why it shouldn't have been called. But for some reason you seem to think that any bump is DPI.
Here is the rule. Please tell me just what happened on the play to make it DPI based on these spelled out examples from the NFL Rule Book.
Defensive Pass Interference
Actions that constitute defensive pass interference include but are not limited to:
(a) Contact by a defender who is not playing the ball and such contact restricts the receiver’s opportunity to make the catch.
(b) Playing through the back of a receiver in an attempt to make a play on the ball.
(c) Grabbing a receiver’s arm(s) in such a manner that restricts his opportunity to catch a pass.
(d) Extending an arm across the body of a receiver thus restricting his ability to catch a pass, regardless of whether the defender is playing the ball.
(e) Cutting off the path of a receiver by making contact with him without playing the ball.
(f) Hooking a receiver in an attempt to get to the ball in such a manner that it causes the receiver’s body to turn prior to the ball arriving.
Not Defensive Pass Interference
Actions that do not constitute pass interference include but are not limited to:
(a) Incidental contact by a defender’s hands, arms, or body when both players are competing for the ball, or neither player is looking for the ball. If there is any question whether contact is incidental, the ruling shall be no interference.
(b) Inadvertent tangling of feet when both players are playing the ball or neither player is playing the ball.
(c) Contact that would normally be considered pass interference, but the pass is clearly uncatchable by the involved players.
(d) Laying a hand on a receiver that does not restrict the receiver in an attempt to make a play on the ball.
(e) Contact by a defender who has gained position on a receiver in an attempt to catch the ball.