Dan Duquette, Thinking Outside the Box

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from rightymclefty. Show rightymclefty's posts

Dan Duquette, Thinking Outside the Box

This from MLB.com:

"The Orioles announced plans on Wednesday night to select the contract of Manny Machado, the No. 3 prospect in baseball, according to MLB.com, from Double-A Bowie prior to Thursday's game, a move that bolsters Baltimore's infield and supports the organization's stance that it is committed to winning in 2012."

This is what I was talking about with Bogaerts. This type of call up used to be fairly common in the old days, before GMs worried about damaged psyches.
    It could shake things up, on a moribund team.

In the O's case, they're looking at making a serious Wild Card run.

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from ZILLAGOD. Show ZILLAGOD's posts

Re: Dan Duquette, Thinking Outside the Box

I have been saying for a few years that Baltimore would be scary if they ever got any pitching.

They always had a good lineup on the field. But their pitching has always stunk.

They hired a great manager.

Brought in a smart General Manger.

They started getting some better pitching.

They aren't quite "scary" yet. But, they are headed in a different direction than what they used to be. They are headed up.

The Red Sox are headed down.

It is time to stop ignoring the model of the Rays, Orioles, and Blue Jays. Youth and energy  equals success. High contracts and lazy veterans equals disaster.

3. You have chosen to ignore posts from rightymclefty. Show rightymclefty's posts

Zilla, I really think that if Sox fans were told by the FO, that they were going with youth, there wouldn't be the hue and cry some people feel would happen.
    I'd rather watch guys like Middlebrooks, Stanton, Trout or Rizzo, than some overpaid fat cats.
    Maybe these guys will someday become overpaid fat cats, too.
    Yet, it's fun to watch them get there.