Where are the best places to kayak?

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from sosler. Show sosler's posts

Re: Where are the best places to kayak?

I've been kayaking steadily since 2003, and have covered about 1600 miles and the majority of the coastline between Essex, CT, and Kittery, ME.  Here are my two cents:

- for beginner/tranquil kayaking, there are an abundance of placid rivers in eastern MA.  The Charles River Basin is always fun, although the ramp is located far upriver, on the Newton-Brighton border.  The "estates section" of the river - Sherborn/Dover/Weston/Needham - is lovely to paddle around, as is the large marsh in Medfield.  I try to paddle Concord, MA at least once a year: btw the historic downtown, Fairhaven Bay, the Minuteman National Park, and the northern extension of the Great Meadows National Wildlife Reserve, it is a wonderful town to explore.  THe Sudbury River in Wayland/Sudbury is also lovely, as is the Nashua River in Harvard, the entire length of the Ipswich River, the Parker River, and the North River (but watch your tides!).  The Mystic River above the Amelia Earhart Dam is a fun trip also.

- for those wanting to explore the coastline, here are my personal preferences, from north to south:

- Portsmouth, NH.  A myriad sites are to be seen here, from the oldest naval base in the country to a spectacular clapboard 19-th century hotel, three historic forts, the beautiful historic downtown, and the ridiculously arge McMansions around it.  The Rye Coastline is beautiful as well.

- Newburyport, MA.  For my money, the most beautiful and well-preserved historic town on the New England coastline (I say this as a former resident of Mystic, CT).  But watch the tides, and stay away from the mouth of the Merrimack unless you are quite experienced and can self-rescue.

- The Great Marsh, particularly behind Cranes Beach.  Bring a chart and a compass - the numerous back channels in the marsh can make navigation difficult.